Doctor Honoris Causa Ceremony 2023

Enrollment, Ceremony International
On  October 12, 2023Saint-Martin-d'Hères - Domaine universitaire
Imagine the materials of tomorrow to meet the challenges of the 21st century, explore the Universe to discover uncharted celestial objects, develop diagnostics and new drugs to combat disease, educate and empower public health to combat social inequalities, rethink our political systems in the face of terrorism, and put Science at the heart of public action.
On 12 October 2023, six international scientific figures will receive the honorary degree of Doctor Honoris Causa from Université Grenoble Alpes for the excellence of their research, their outstanding contributions to the arts, humanities, sciences and technology, and their links with Grenoble Alpes University. French version
To be able to welcome you in the optimal conditions on Thursday, 12 October 2023 at 2:00 pm (doors open at 1:30 pm) in the Amphi Weil (access map) for this ceremony (program below), please register via the form below.
Simultaneous translation (French-English and English-French) for all participants and audience.
Download the booklet.

UGA's new Honorary Doctors 2023

The title of Doctor Honoris Causa is one of the most prestigious distinctions awarded by French universities. This honorary title has been awarded since 1918 "to personalities of foreign nationality for outstanding services rendered to the arts, letters, sciences and techniques, to France or to the institution which awards the title".

Katsuhiro Akimoto
Professor in Applied sciences at the University of Tsukuba, Japan. Read more.
Sponsor: Etienne Gheeraert, professor at Polytech Grenoble - INP, UGA and at the Institut Néel
Tania Cremonini de Araujo-Jorge
Director of the Oswaldo Cruz Institute, professor in Public Health and Parasitolgy, Brazil. Read more.
Sponsor: Sabine Bailly, senior researcher Inserm at the Laboratoire biologie et biotechnologies pour la santé (BioSanté)
Wen-Chang Chen
President of the National Taiwan University, professor of Chemical Engineering, Taiwan. Read more.
Sponsor: Redouane Borsali, CNRS research director at the Centre de recherches sur les macromolécules végétales (CERMAV)
Reinhard Genzel
Nobel Prize in Physics, professor of Astrophysics at the University of California, Berkeley, Director of the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Germany. Read more.
Sponsor: Jean-Baptiste Le Bouquin, assistant astronomer UGA at the Institut de planétologie et d'astrophysique de Grenoble (IPAG)
Mona Nemer
Canada's Chief Science Advisor, professor of Molecular Cardiology at the University of Ottawa, Canada. Read more.
Sponsor: Walid Rachidi, professor of biotechnology at the Faculté de pharmacie, UGA and at the Laboratoire biosciences et bioingénierie pour la santé
Louise Richardson
President of the Carnegie Corporation of New York, professor of Political Science at Oxford University, United Kingdom. Read more.
Sponsor: Stéphane Sadoux, associate professor at ENSAG-UGA and director, Unité de recherche (LabEx) Architecture, Environnement et Cultures constructives (AE&CC)

Programme of the ceremony

Opening at 2:00 pm
Welcome by Caroline Bertonèche, president of the Academic Council of Université Grenoble Alpes. Formal entry of the recipients and their sponsors. Opening address by Yassine Lakhnech, president of Université Grenoble Alpes. Speech by Olivier Dugrip, rector of the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes academic region, rector of the Lyon academy, chancellor of universities.

Honorary doctorate awarded to Katsuhiro Akimoto
Opening adress in honor of Katsuhiro Akimoto by his sponsor Etienne Gheeraert. Presentation of the honorary degree by Yassine Lakhnech. Closing speach by Katsuhiro Akimoto: Material Science of Endless Interest.

Honorary doctorate awarded to Tania C. Araujo-Jorge
Opening adress in honor of Tania C. Araujo-Jorge by her sponsor Sabine Bailly and Jean-Jacques Feige. Presentation of the honorary degree by Yassine Lakhnech. Closing speach by Tania C. Araujo-Jorge: Transdisciplinary and translational science: learning from people, care and education.

Musical interlude

Honorary doctorate awarded to Wen-Chang Chen
Opening adress in honor of Wen-Chang Chen by his sponsor Redouane Borsali. Presentation of the honorary degree by Yassine Lakhnech. Closing speach by Wen-Chang Chen: Carbohydrate materials-based electronics toward a substantial future.

Honorary doctorate awarded to Reinhard Genzel
Opening adress in honor of Reinhard Genzel by his sponsor Jean-Baptiste Le Bouquin. Presentation of the honorary degree by Yassine Lakhnech. Closing speach by Reinhard Genzel: A Forty-Year Journey.

Musical interlude

Honorary doctorate awarded to Mona Nemer
Opening adress in honor of Mona Nemer by her sponsor Walid Rachidi. Presentation of the honorary degree by Yassine Lakhnech. Closing speach by Mona Nemer: A journey in science: for better hearts and public policies.

Honorary doctorate awarded to Louise Richardson
Opening adress in honor of Louise Richardson by her sponsor Stéphane Sadoux. Presentation of the honorary degree by Yassine Lakhnech. Closing speach by Louise Richardson: What universities can do to help address the crisis in democracy?

Cocktail reception from 5:30pm
Restaurant universitaire Diderot


The registration form is closed.
Published on  September 12, 2023
Updated on  December 5, 2023