Université Grenoble Alpes (UGA) staff and students, as well as representatives from partners institutions play a role in UGA governing system, which takes form in 4 main central governing bodies:


The President, assisted by a team of Vice presidents, leads Université Grenoble Alpes in its missions and global ambition.

Council of deans

The Council of deans is headed by the President and is composed of the 6 Directors of the academic divisions.


The Board approves Université Grenoble Alpes’ policies and strategic decisions, prepared by the Presidency and the Council of deans.

Academic council

Made up of the Education and student life commission and the Research commission, the Academic council looks at recommendations for learning, research, knowledge outreach, and scientific and technical documentation that concern the qualifications of university lecturers, professors and researchers on accreditation and contract requests.
Published on  July 31, 2020
Updated on June 16, 2021